Stay Informed


Equality North Carolina Foundation has a professional staff and dedicated team of interns working for you.

Our Staff

Brent Childers, Director of Faith Outreach

Brent Childers joined the Equality NC staff in October 2015 as Director of Faith Outreach. He has worked for the previous eight years as executive director of an LGBT advocacy organization dedicated to ending the unique harm caused to LGBT individuals, especially youth and their families, when certain religious teaching is used to justify and promote stigma and hostility.

Ben Graumann, Director of Communications

Ben Graumann began his work with Equality NC in July 2014 as the development associate, becoming development manager in March 2015, and Director of Communications in January 2016. Ben writes press releases, fields media requests, develops communications strategies and grows the organization's social media presence.

Eshe Hamme, Director of Development

Eshe Hamme is the Director of Development for Equality NC and is responsible for the creation and execution of the development strategy for the organization. Eshe has dedicated her career toward the advancement of diversity and inclusion, global healthcare, and public policy and advocacy issues.

Matt Hirschy, Director of Advancement

Matt Hirschy joined the Equality NC staff in July 2014 as its first Director of Business Engagement and Programs and has since become Director of Advancement. Matt works with the Business Equality Council to increase statewide workplace protection policies, and manages the day to day operations of many of our programs.

Shawn Long, Director of Operations

T. Shawn Long joined the Equality NC staff in August 2006 as administrative coordinator. He now works as the Director of Operations, serving as office manager and handling general questions and requests, processing donations and bills, maintaining the member database, handling the financial accounts, and coordinating event registration.

Maddie Majerus, Director of Organizing

Coming from a background of campus organizing in LGBT and reproductive justice work, Maddie joined Equality NC in April 2016 working within a coalition to repeal House Bill 2. She now serves at the Director of Organizing, building community relationships across our state.

Tierra Ragland, Faith Organizing Specialist

Tierra Ragland joined the Equality NC staff in August 2015 as a Communications and Organizing Specialist, dedicated to a partnership with the ACLU of NC Legal Foundation. She focused on organizing and educating North Carolina around religious refusal/recusal, or so-called “religious freedom,” proposals and their impact on the LGBT community.

Todd Rosendahl, Director of Youth Policy

Dr. Todd Rosendahl is Equality NC's Director of Youth Policy, a position created in a partnership with Time Out Youth in Charlotte and partially funded by Bank of America. Todd works with K-12 school districts across North Carolina providing professional development for school staff, GSA support for middle and high school students, and policy/regulation guidance to better support LGBTQ students.

Chris Sgro, Executive Director

Chris has spent nearly a decade in LGBT and progressive advocacy and campaign work. Recently, he served as the only out-LGBT member of the North Carolina General Assembly, where he introduced the first-ever statewide, comprehensive non-discrimination bill inclusive of sexual orientation and gender identity. He has been Executive Director of ENC since 2013, with a commitment to advancing non-discrimination, providing leadership over intersectional programs, and electing more out-LGBT people to public office.

Our Boards

Our boards set organizational policy and goals, ensure the fiscal stability and success of the organizations, and select and supervise the Executive Director. We seek to maintain boards that represent the diversity of the community in terms of geography, race, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, class, age, disability, religion, and partisanship. CLICK HERE to view our Equality NC Board Membership.

Equality NC Foundation Board

Jeanne Kutrow Chair Charlotte
Donna Oldham Vice Chair Kernersville
Linda Cary Secretary Greensboro
Marc Tiegel Treasurer Charlotte
GerShun Avilez Chapel Hill
Alan Buie-King Raleigh
Laura Levin Concord
TR Nunley Castle Hayne
Cole Rizki Durham
John Sherry Raleigh
Summer Wisdom Boone

Stay in Touch

Talk to us:

P.O. Box 28768
Raleigh, NC 27611
tel (919) 829-0343
fax (919) 827-4573

Stay Connected

Follow us on:

Stay Informed


Build the grassroots organization it will take to bring Equality home.


Who We Are | What We Do | The Latest | Take Action
Privacy | Contact Us

© 2012 Equality NC · All Rights Reserved

Powered by ARCOS | Design by Plus Three